Photo Editing February’s photos

This week’s editing challenge over at Sonel’s blog is our choice – the only parameter is that it be shot in February.  Last month I went up to Ottawa’s Winterlude so I had a number of shots to choose from.  Below is the result of one of my efforts, and below that is the original.

digital art fine art photography

DSCN6452

In Sagelight I cropped it and then blew out the details in the foreground and middle ground using the light blender in the power box controls.  In Paint I removed the last of the foreground shadows and the girl in pink and the centre tree plus the arch to the left of the tree, which I found distracting.  Back in Sagelight I converted it to black and white, adjusted the lighting to bring up the interest in the sky and applied the vignette.  What I like about Sagelight’s vignette feature is that you can easily adjust its shape, angle and placement, and colour if you wish. In that way I concentrated the light on the city across the river.   Whether or not you like the results, the combination of effects provides quite a transformation.

These following shots also taken at Winterlude have been posted on my photo blog but here I will show the originals as well.   This is an ice sculpture – I couldn’t get close because the line was long and time was short so I had to make do with this shot.ice sculpture

But with Sagelight I brought the background to black using the light blender controls and cropped the shot.  An HDR effect  Continue reading “Photo Editing February’s photos”