Arcs and Arches

Architectural arches apparently appeared as early as the 2nd millennium BC; the Romans utilized the arch for aqueducts and domes, the Colosseum and the Pantheon.  Through my eye, straight lines may speak strength, but arches and arcs in architecture speak grace and refinement.  These are detail shots of a theatre in St Petersburg, Russia …

arches and ceiling detail theatre St Petersburg Russia

ceiling detail in theatre St Petersburg Russia ceiling detail theatre in St Petersburg Russiaceiling detail theatre in St Petersburg RussiaI ran the following shots through some of my ‘photo shop’ programs and prefered these versions to the original photos:

waiter serving in Theatre in St Petersburg Russia interior theatre St Petersburg Russia interior theatre St Petersburg RussiaOh, and I enjoyed the show as well 😉

theatre in St Petersburg RussiaWeekly Photo Challenge: Curves

23 thoughts on “Arcs and Arches

    1. My own garden landscape is all curves and broad sweeps (I have a large (!) garden) because I like the flow. But a well designed parterre in a linear layout, all straight lines and angles and gravelled pathways always fills me with a good feeling – I’m not sure why. Thanks for commenting, Charlie.

      Like

I like receiving feedback ...