One Photo Focus – Castle

Stacy at Visual Venturing hosts One Photo Focus.  She provides the photo and we all edit it our own way. Then she does all the work of pulling it all together on her site.  (Thank you, Stacy)  It’s always interesting to see the varied interpretations. This is the original photo submitted by Benjamin Rowe.

1pf sep original

The JPeg I downloaded was unfortunately very small, only  53.7kb so that affects the image when zooming in.  I had Wuthering Heights in my head when doing my editing … don’t know that’s where I ended up but after trying a lot of different things I eventually stopped when I got something I liked.   My process is below, all done in Sagelight.

I upped the detail looking for more interest in the sky and removed the various benches except one, which I kept to create a dynamic between the castle and bench.   In the end I didn’t gain much sky contrast but this is where I started.

I then aged the photo and went back in to partially remove that effect from the upper sky.

I added a soft focus and again partially removed it from the sky.

Using dodge and burn I lightened the area around the chair very slightly.

I did a colour adjust.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

17 thoughts on “One Photo Focus – Castle

  1. I’m really impressed by Sagelight, and you clearly know what you’re doing with the program. I like how you apply effect and then removed them from the sky. It adds lovely visual interest. A great interpretation of Ben’s photo.

    Liked by 1 person

I like receiving feedback ...

