Visual Quotation 44: Alive

“I tried to keep both arts alive, but the camera won. I found that while the camera does not express the soul, perhaps a photograph can!” – Ansel Adams

portrait of a man

I am not trying to compare myself to Ansel Adams and his powerful and evocative images, but when I read the quote I thought of this photograph.   I took this shot surreptitiously in an airport lounge yet I feel a certain intimacy when I look at it. I have taken other photos of people in public places and not felt the same connection as I do with this one.  This is published with respect but if this should be a photo of you, and you wish it removed, please contact me and I will do so.

Ese’s shoot and quote is: Alive

17 thoughts on “Visual Quotation 44: Alive

  1. This is an amazing image of a person in deep thought, very calm and meditative. A lovely shot and the vignette add by concentrating our eye to the person.

    Like

    1. Thank you! Ilargia. I have hesitated to post this shot because it feels so personal but, as I said, it is posted with the utmost respect to this individual. I really appreciate your comment.

      Like

I like receiving feedback ...

