Frank Lloyd’s Right

“A doctor can bury his mistakes, but an architect can only advise his clients to plant vines.” ― Frank Lloyd Wright

Rotterdam was one of the cities severely damaged during World War II. On May 14, 1940 a bombing blitz destroyed almost the entire city core, and along with it, much of Rotterdam’s historical architecture.

With so much destroyed, it seemed the city became a blank slate for architects. Rather than try to rebuild what was lost, Rotterdam chose to move to the next age. The city is burgeoning with modern, edgy architectural designs.  Some, like the cube houses are weird and fun, although I can’t imagine living in one.  Some are just weird …Rotterdam architectureApparently it is in the shape of the number one … personally, I think it looks like a periscope and one of the less attractive buildings in the Rotterdam skyline.  It is the Shipping and Transport College.

The centre building in this photo by my brother-in-law is the unfinished De Rotterdam – hotel, commercial space, government offices and residential – 44 storeys.  The shorter building on the left is the KPN Telecom Building, which looks like it is being propped up …
Rotterdam architectureI haven’t been able to identify the next building, photo by my husband … any one know?
Rotterdam architecture
Below we have, on the left, the World Port Centre – commercial and conferencing space – 33 storeys.  The skyscraper on the right is The Montevideo – residential, offices, and restaurant – 43 storeys.  The older building in the lower part of the photo is the staid, old Holland America Building, now Hotel New York.
Rotterdam architectureI liked the look of this last one  – I wonder what the projected, orange parts of the building house?  I couldn’t identify this one either – more info would be welcome.
Rotterdam architectureI wish I’d had time to just concentrate on the city’s architecture because much of it is very imaginative.  To see more go here.

If I wrongly identified any buildings, please correct me 😉

Ailsa’s travel theme is: Architecture

16 thoughts on “Frank Lloyd’s Right

    1. A lot of today’s urban architecture does seem to lack character and that can’t be said of what’s on view in Rotterdam. I found the skyline fanciful and interesting. When mixing the old and the new I think the city father’s need to be discerning in their choices … for instance, I can’t get used to seeing that “gherkin” building beside St. Paul’s Cathedral in London’s skyline. 🙂

      Like

  1. Very well captured – I really enjoy visiting Rotterdam, which have a very cruel history as you mentioning – a lot of the changes there were because they had to do it – an interesting city… 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes, I’d read that the blitz was devastating – killing hundreds, leaving thousands homeless, as well as the obliteration of the city’s historical buildings. The result is a unique skyline.

      Like

  2. Am interesting post. I can’t say that these new designs seem pleasant to me. Maybe I’m too old fashioned. It’s a shame though, that this is how they’ve rebuilt their city.

    Like

    1. It is very edgy – some are interesting, and some are just, well, weird. I know that St. Malo in France rebuilt from its war devastation by re-using the stone and brick. I guess Rotterdam chose a different path.

      Like

I like receiving feedback ...

