Visual Quotations 9 – Stairway to …

Two things are bad for the heart – running up stairs and running down people – Bernard Baruch

stairs and door at Chateau de Combourg France
Side entrance at Chateau de Combourg, France

An escalator can never break: it can only become stairs. You should never see an Escalator Temporarily Out Of Order sign, just Escalator Temporarily Stairs. Sorry for the convenience.- Mitch Hedberg

stairs leading to cove on Costa Brava Spain
Stairs down to the sea on the Costa Brava in northern Spain

“We are all on the stairs, my friend; some of us are going down, some us are going up!” ― Mehmet Murat ildan

wrought iron spiral staircase
Wrought iron staircase in a renovated winery, southern France

A habit cannot be tossed out the window; it must be coaxed down the stairs a step at a time.Mark Twain

stairs at Tintagel in Cornwall England
Steep stairs at Tintagel in Cornwall, England

The elevator to success is out of order. You’ll have to use the stairs… one step at a time.” – Joe Girard

Stairs leading to aquaduct, Pont du Gard, France
Stairs leading to aqueduct, Pont du Gard, France

If I have to move up in a building, I choose the elevator over the escalator.  Because one time I was riding the escalator and I tripped.  I fell down the stairs for an hour and a half.  – Demetri Martin

stairs to bridge in the Gheto, Venice
Stairs and bridge over canal in Gheto, Venice

Away from the world and its toils and its cares, I’ve a snug little kingdom up four pair of stairs.William Makepeace Thackeray

stairs and door in Verrucole Italy
Stairs and door to old stone house in Verrucole, Tuscany Italy

Related image on my photo blog: Stairs

Cee’s fun foto challenge is: steps or stairs

28 thoughts on “Visual Quotations 9 – Stairway to …

    1. They intimidated me TSC – I knew even if I got down them I would not be able to get back up – my vertigo would have made it terrifying. I passed 😦 but explored other areas 🙂

      Like

I like receiving feedback ...

