The Shadow Knows

Nothing delights my photographic eye more than strong light producing beautiful contrasting shadows.  We spent a week in the delightful village of Dinan in Brittany before the sun came out, encouraging me to climb the steep streets one more time to capture these shots.

shadows in Dinan Brittany

Shadows in the streets of Dinan Brittany France

shadows in streets of Dinan Brittany France

 

The afternoon light drew me down to the Cathedral in St-David’s in Wales for this lucky shot …
Wales St David's Cathedral

 

This is one of my favourite shots of Venice.  I like how the shadows knit the composition together.

Venice canal with boat in shadows

 

And this was shot during one of my morning walks in our woods …
shadows on winter snow in woods

Ailsa’s travel theme, in honour of Groundhog Day, is: Shadows  Here in Ontario we have Wiarton Willie and he has predicted Spring will come early to our neck of the woods.  Let’s hope because I fell on the ice again today.

32 thoughts on “The Shadow Knows

    1. If you plan a trip to that part of France I’d highly recommend a visit to Dinan. It is said to be one of the best preserved mediaeval villages in France. It was of special interest to me because my great grandmother and grandmother lived there for a few years over a hundred years ago.

      Like

        1. No, unfortunately we didn’t find their cottage – we didn’t have quite enough of a description for that but we did find the school my grand uncle had gone to. It wasn’t until after we had booked our place in Dinan that we realized it was where our grandmother had lived so it really enhanced that stay there. On that same trip we also found the graves of our 3x great grandparents in a tiny village called Starcross south of Exeter in Cornwall England. For them we actually had an address but it was evident that the houses we saw were not of sufficient vintage. Then we stumbled upon a cemetery and on chance went to look … quite exciting actually.

          Like

    1. We’d had a very thin dusting of snow after a thaw and freeze. In the winter I always take my walking stick – it didn’t stop me from sliding on that ice but thereafter on the way home I was tapping tapping the snow in front of me to see if there was ice underneath.

      Like

    1. Ha! Hockey. No, I was walking in our woods and a thin covering of snow had concealed a patch of ice and down I went. I enjoy our Canadian winters, but I must admit, as I get older winter needs to be shorter. 🙂

      Like

      1. Wow! Very cool. How long did you stay there, Lynne? The University of Maryland has an artist-in-residence program there that you might be interested in. My artist sister is applying for it, and if she is accepted, I will surely go see her!

        Like

        1. We stayed a week in Dinan. We didn’t find out until after booking that it was in Dinan that my great grandmother lived for a few years and my grandmother went to school there in the early 1900’s, at La Sagesse up in the heights and her brother went to Les Cordeliers. We puttered on the Rance, walked to Lehon and explored the old and newer Dinan and then retreated to our wonderful cottage and BBQ’d in the back yard by the bridge. It was a wonderful week. The Artist-in-Residence program sounds like a real treat.

          Like

          1. You have a very personal history there! It was also in Dinan that a famous story took place a few years before the Norman Conquest. The English earl Harold Godwinson went to war with William the Bastard (who would become The Conqueror in 1066). A Norman soldier strayed off the path and was caught in the quicksand of a bog. William and Harold heard his cries for help. Wm. was disgusted, but Harold laid the shields of several soldiers down on the wet surface to walk upon the quicksand without sinking, and pull the soldier out. “Why did you bother? He was a fool and deserved to die,” said Wm. “I couldn’t bear to hear his cries,” said Harold. I think of that when I think of Dinan.

            Like

I like receiving feedback ...

