Driving the back roads

We enjoy renting a car when travelling – it offers such freedom to come and go as we please, to take the roads less travelled, to follow the scent of the sea or the lights to the next village.Β  My brother-in-law drove during our stay in Devon and Cornwall in England, and I took to the wheel in Wales.Β  The narrow and winding roads and high, thick hedgerows can be like rabbit warren, leaving one wondering what lies beyond the next turn.

The weekly photo challenge: Beyond

Related article: Call Waiting on Beyond the Brush Photography

30 thoughts on “Driving the back roads

    1. These roads were all in Cornwall/Devon in the south of England, and in Wales. Lots of great curves and dips but one really needs to stick to the right side of the road, which, is of course, in Britain, the left. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  1. These are lovely Lynne. You’ve done the narrow lanes justice. I’m glad to hear you like to get off the beaten track. As you say, you never know what you might find, Chillbrook Farm even. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. I do the same, for the same reason. Never been to Wales, where my grandfather’s family immigrated from, but you’ve given a good sense of a different part of it here – not the tourist brochure view, but what I’d likely see if/when I go, exploring back roads.

    Like

    1. I’m much more of an off-the-beaten-track traveller than a follow-the-little-yellow-flag-keep-up-with-the-guide kind of traveller. I dislike being herded and told to chop-chop. However, there is always a time and place for that as well.

      Like

    1. Originally we were going to start our trip out of Newport . For some reason that escapes me now we bussed from Heathrow to Cardiff instead, picked up our car and then backtracked to Chepstow to go up through the Wye Valley and Tintern. I really enjoyed our Welsh sojourn and would love to see the north Wales.

      Like

  3. I’m glad that you get around the real countryside! Devon hedgerows must be a but disconcerting for those that aren’t familiar πŸ™‚ I have a tendency to barrel through the ones I know but it easier in the dark when you can see if someone is coming.

    Like

    1. I avoided driving after dark – that just seemed too scary, but, of course you are right, at least there would be the oncoming lights. Devon hedgerows are indeed a bit disconcerting – and I hate backing up to the layby but when it’s between you and a bloody big bus, the bus wins.

      Like

        1. It is all in what you are used to. I spoke with someone in Wales who said that our highways are so wide he found them unnverving. Last week I was driving up north of Superior and I’d forgotten what those roads around the lake are like – kilometer long sweeping hills with curves at the bottom, the lake to the right, rock cuts to the left and always on the lookout for snow patches, or worse, black ice.

          Like

    1. Very fast could indeed induce heart attacks. I came nose to nose with a van who certainly didn’t expect to meet me on his road. That and a farmer in a HUGE tractor towing a honey wagon.

      Like

    1. Maybe looks peaceful but driving them is somewhat white-knuckle for the uniniated – signs like “oncoming traffic in the middle of the road” can be quite disconcerting. πŸ˜‰

      Like

I like receiving feedback ...

