Contemplative Photography 2

Last week I did a post on contemplative photography and many of you, although you hadn’t heard of it before, expressed interest in it.  I hope you stopped by Seeing Fresh.  Andy Karr accepts submissions on his site and if they are examples that fit his photographic assignments, he publishes them.  To see if I was on the right track I submitted two from my post last week.  The first one, which is actually a harrow disc covered with light snow that sits in my garden as a bit of outdoor sculpture, I submitted to his assignment on Simplicity – “This assignment is about the experience of form in space.”  And he posted it.

I submitted the leaf to his assignment on Space – “The challenge in the space assignment is to shift your intention from seeing forms in space to seeing visual space itself”.  I was disappointed when I didn’t see it posted – however, he did include it under Texture, which, when you view the image, IS predominant.  I’m still not sure if I grasp what he’s looking for in the Space assignment – I will try again.

This is my Contemplative Photograph this week and I offer it with a quote:
Stuff your eyes with wonder, live as if you’d drop dead in ten seconds. See the world. It’s more fantastic than any dream …  – Ray Bradbury

Taken in My Own Backyard
World of algae in nature on a rock

Also see today’s photo at Beyond the Brush Photography
10 thoughts on “Contemplative Photography 2

  1. I’m late reading this – sorry! I love the photo and plan to pay a visit to the site when I have time to concentrate on it. I love the quote, too – it’s makes me smile and it really fits the photo – it’s a lunar lichen! thanks –

    Like

I like receiving feedback ...

