Five Minute Friday: Opportunity

Around here we write for five minutes flat on Fridays.  We write because we love words and the relief it is to just write them without worrying if they’re just right or not. So we take five minutes on Friday and write like we used to run when we were kids.

We write with gusto, unselfconscious and flat-out.  Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.

My Five Minute Friday on Tuesday:  Life’s Ways

I needed a break.  I sat on the steps outside the office, unsure of what I was feeling.  He approached and sat down and began to commiserate.  Work hadn’t been much fun lately.  Lay-offs were looming, unknowns hung in the air, what-if’s circled around and around, fear and despair were beginning to pool around my feet.  I was unprepared for what he said. “This could be the best thing that ever happened to you.”  My head came up and I studied his face.  Yes. It could be.  The thought lodged itself in my brain.  I began to contemplate something better, something different. And I found myself making decisions that were leading me to that ‘best thing’.  Five years down the road I realized he had been right – it had been the best thing that ever happened to me.  Life’s ways.

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Opportunity

  1. life often gives us a gentle nudge in the right direction . . . but then there are the yanking the rug from beneath your feet. . . at the edge of a precipice. . . with big, sharp rocks and no water at the end of a long drop!

    Like

I like receiving feedback ...

